Granada 2/17/17-2/19/17

21 Feb

This past weekend we hopped on a bus to Granada, Mrs. DiCroce’s home away from home. After a long bus ride, we dropped our luggage off in the hotel and Mrs. DiCroce took us on a walk to one of the most beautiful views we have ever sin from El Mirador San Nicolás.  As we watched the sun set, a couple of men were sitting on the ledge singing and playing flamenco music.  We went back tot he hotel and got ready for dinner where we had to repeat the croquetas because they were so good!  On Saturday, we started off our morning at La Alhambra, where we “basically” spent 3 hours and most probably could have easily spent many more.  After our tour, we stopped for some lunch and churros con chocolate.  The students had some free time, which means shopping time to them.  We met up for dinner at a Flamenco show.  The students were amazed by the show, but we will let them tell you more:

Granada was so different than anything we had seen so far. The Arabic culture was present even though history would suggest otherwise. The Alhambra was such an amazing sight both from afar and inside. The little shops were perfect for gifts and souvenirs.”

-Coleman

Hola todos,

This weekend, we visited the southern city of Granada. The warm, inviting weather and seemingly friendly atmosphere really came as a relief after our trivial days at school of guessing what the teachers were saying. Saturday morning began early as we left to visit the Alhambra, the last Muslim stronghold on the Iberian Peninsula, in order to receive a guided tour. My favorite part about the Alhambra is reflected in the photograph: the architecture. The variety and different influences of the different palaces in the outward seemingly unified structure surprised me and made for some great pictures.”

-Sebastian

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.23.56 PM.png

This weekend we visited Granada. As soon as we boarded off the bus,  I feel in love with the city.  It was an old city surrounded by mountains and it reminded me of a mixture of both Boston and Colombia. The first night on Friday,  we arrived to the hotel  unpacked  and later meet for a walk of the city and dinner.  On our walk we visited a market and we enjoyed a scenic view of the Alhambra as the sun was setting. We then went to dinner that night.  The next morning we took a bus to the the Alhambra and as we walked through, we saw a great view of the city throughout.  After the Alhambra we had 4 hours to shop,  so we went back to the market where I bought a lot of gifts and souvenirs, then we went back to the hotel and got ready for the flamingo show that night.  The flamenco show was probably my favorite part so far and I loved watching them dance. Sunday morning we went to get churros with chocolate and took the bus back to Villalba at 1.”

-Laura B.

Granada might’ve been one of the most beautiful places I’ve been. Also, the most fun. We got to see a flamenco show, and see the Alhambra Palace. Both were so cool and I loved every second of Granada.”

-Christina

“My favorite part about our weekend in Grenada was the view of the Alhambra and the views from inside the Alhambra. The view of the alhambra while the sun was setting was one of the best views I have ever seen and so was the view of the whole town from inside. I also loved the flamenco dancing because I have never seen anything like it.”

-Sarah

Granada is simply spectacular. I really cannot decide which part was my favorite part about Granada. On the first night we took a mini-walk to “see around town”. We ended up propped up on a hill with the most spectacular view of the Alhambra during sunset. The ambiance created by the musicians, food, and sunset created an atmosphere I will never forget. Going into the Alhambra was also an amazing experience. I could not believe that the human mind could create the idea for the structure, and then actually physically carry out the idea. The amount of creativity and uniqueness invested in the building of the Alhambra is incredible. Finally, the flamenco show was jaw-dropping. Fortunately, I saw front row at the show. I was able to eat my tortilla de patata with my right hand while reaching the stage with my left hand. My friend Becca and I were drowning in tears after the show. We were and still are so thankful to have this experience even though it was short-lived. I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity to obviously come to Spain, but to also engulf myself fully in the culture of central Spain as well as southern Spain.”

-Angela

Granada was BEAUTIFUL! The bus ride there was long and I slept for most of it which was actually very comfy for me. I shared a room with Livie with a great balcony view. The dinner was delicious. The churros and free breakfast at the hotel was appetizing. The views were so nice, such as the Alhambra. It was very cool touring around there and the rest of Granada. The market place was really nice with cool souvenirs and articles of clothing for cheap prices. Granada had a warmer temperature which I loved, and the flamenco show was outstanding. The food at the show, which were fish with tomato, tortilla, croquetas, and a two types of meat were delicious. The weekend in Granada was wonderful and I had a terrific time there!”

-Elaine

Granada was amazing! By far the most beautiful place I have ever been. I loved how it was a mix of European and Middle Eastern cultures. The bus ride to get there was absolutely beautiful, I stared out the window almost the whole time. When we got there, we checked into the hotel and then got a tour from Ms. Walton of the city. We walked up to a place where you can see an amazing view of the Alhambra.”

-Alexandria

This weekend was one of the most incredible in my life. Granada is absolutely beautiful. My favorite thing that we saw was the flamenco show; it was the most passionate and intense display of emotion. I was completely enthralled, between the dancers, the singers, and the guitarist it was hard to know where to focus. I learned that I definitely want to study abroad in Granada in college.”

-Laura F.

“I don’t even know where to start with Granada. Every moment I just thought about how I am going to take my mother there and show here everything that I saw.
Friday we were able to see a beautiful church right by our hotel, and shop around for a little in small stores. But after we were able to see the view of a life time, and one of the best views you could ever see. It may have been quite a walk but let me tell you it was 200% worth it, everything in Granada everything you do, everything you see is 200% worth it. We were able to see the sun setting while looking at a beautiful palace across the way.

Saturday we were able to tour that beautiful palace across the way which was influenced by the Muslims and by the Catholics. Everywhere you went everywhere you looked there was such an intense detail on every inch of that castle that it was completely mesmerizing. I could not tell you which part had a better view. After the tour we were able to shop and bargain for the best prices comparing with each other what we were able to buy and for what price. After the shopping we were able to go to something that completely changed my life. We were able to sit front row to see the best performance of flamenco dancing that I could ever imagine in my entire life, and I cannot wait to one day bring my mom so she can experience what i have been so lucky to see. Granada is whatever comes after perfect.”

-Becca

Granada has been one of my most memorable and favorite parts of the Spanish exchange. It is so beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed walking through the streets at the open air markets while admiring the beauty of the architecture of the city. One of my favorite parts was the tour of the Alhambra because it was extremely thorough and informative. The Alhambra is definitely one of, if not, the most beautiful building I have ever seen, both at night and during the day. The views from different areas of the Alhambra were also stunning, which are featured in the top photo. I miss Granada already!”

-Sheila

“We started the day by going to breakfast at the hotel, which happened to be a buffet. Then we got ourselves ready and went for our tour of the Alhambra where we looked at 3 palaces which told the history of Granada. After our tour, me and my friends went into the markets and shops to buy gifts for family and friends. Once we finished we returned back to the hotel and got ready for our Flamenco show and dinner. We later drove to the show, which was AMAZING and ate some pretty great food for dinner. Finally we returned back to the hotel and watched movies until we fell asleep.”

-Leila

Visited the Alhambra and it was beautiful!! Had a lot of fun walking around Granada as well and seeing all the shops.”

-Melinda

This weekend we went to Granada for two days. It was such a beautiful city and I didn’t want to leave it Sunday morning. The history of Granada was so interesting, and I loved the Alhambra. It was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen I can’t believe it was as well preserved as it was. The flamenco show we saw Saturday night and the food was incredible. I hope one day I can go back to Granada and do all of that again.”

-Marissa

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.52.30 PM.png

Granada was absolutely amazing all around. We saw multiple views of the entire city of Granada which I would say we’re the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen. Also, we went to the Alhambra which was the most beautiful architecture I’ve ever seen. The city had amazing food, shops, and culture. Also, our hotel was great and we had a great view from our room.”

-Brie

Saturday in Granada we went to Alhambra. We took a long tour of the grounds. It was so beautiful. After, we saw a flamenco show with dinner. The show was incredible and the dancers were amazing!”

-Olivia

One Response to “Granada 2/17/17-2/19/17”

  1. mmesra February 21, 2017 at 2:41 pm #

    breathtaking!!! love the spaghetti sauce…. pics are incredibly clear…. glad you’re all having such a wonderful time!!!!

Leave a Reply

